[4/365] Thirty Seconds: Cromer Beach

I drove to Cromer and spent the afternoon wandering around, shooting footage and taking photographs.  It was cold and windy and the beach was wild.

The sea on a rainy day is my favourite kind of sea, and I had a wonderful time, enjoying the sound of the waves and the feeling of the pebbles under my boots.

Although I didn’t feel melancholy when I was at the beach, I realised while I was shooting that there was a definite sense of desolation in the greyness of the day.  I downloaded the trial version of Final Cut Pro (wow, it is going to be a lot of fun mastering this program) and while I was playing with the features, I decided to play the footage backwards.

I think it’s a really interesting result!

I wrote the score while I was editing, it’s supposed to match the melancholy feel of the footage, but I don’t think it was very well executed.  It sounded better in my mind, and it was taking me such a long time that I just got too tired in the end to revise it any further.  I think it’s too slow… and maybe it needs another layer of sound.

I shot loads of footage, so I’ll have a go at another 30 seconds later in the year!

Score: Garageband

Editing: Final Cut Pro

Leave a Reply

