[10/365] Thirty Seconds: Ramona Olive

I first met Romy the day after she was born.

I almost met her the day she was born, because her Mama and I were going to have dinner, but then I got a text that said ‘I’m going to have to bail because my waters have broken, but what are you doing this weekend?’.

It is the most wonderful feeling to know that you’ll soon be meeting someone who is pretty much GUARANTEED to be an awesome human being, based on their really really awesome parents.

I’d hoped Ramona would exist for a long time.  Wayyyy before she was a bump.

It sounds strange, but I think when you’ve seen the darker side of parenting and families, you get a kind of Mario Brothers Power Up when you hear good news like TWO LOVELY, FUNCTIONAL PEOPLE ARE EXPECTING A SMALL LOVELY PERSON.  People like Romy’s Mama and Papa, who have the genes for kindness, happiness, gentleness, resourcefulness, generosity, cleverness, creativity… they’re all genes, right?  SCIENCE!  And even if they’re not genes, surely they’re still qualities that small people inherit by learning from their parents?

Well anyway, when I first saw Romy, there, in her home, in the spot where she came into the world, I was so in awe of her that I was afraid to hold her.  I just couldn’t believe she’d finally arrived.

I was very lucky to spend a few precious hours hanging out with her when I flew back to Melbourne for Camp Bitch, so I took a few little videos.  Her score is really simple with only three instruments and three chords, a little Sesame Street inspired.

When I moved to the UK, Romy was 4 months old.  She’s now double that!  She’s smiling and laughing and learning.

It is a privilege to be able to watch her grow.

Score: Garageband

Editing: Final Cut Pro

Leave a Reply

