[25/365] Thirty Seconds: In Transit

On November 16th I flew back to Australia again, this time to shoot a wedding.  The timing was crazy, and I am not proud of my carbon omissions for 2016.  No more long haul international again any time soon!

In the week leading up to my flight, I spent a great deal of time curled up in a ball with some epic abdominal pain, like I’d never experienced before.  I refused to go to the hospital because I was afraid they’d tell me I couldn’t fly.

I spent the first 2 hours of my Heathrow to Guangzhou flight completely doubled over, with silent tears streaming down my face, internally chanting ‘DO NOT CRY OUT, THEY WILL LAND THE PLANE, YOUR TRAVEL INSURANCE MIGHT NOT COVER YOU, AND EVERYONE WILL BE SERIOUSLY PISSED OFF AT YOU’.

So I dosed myself up on Co-codamol just to get through.  It was one of the strangest and most painful 24 hours of my life.

During my layover I was a zombie.  There were these glorious dangling lights at Guangzhou Airport, and it was also absolutely pouring with rain outside.  It was like some kind of waking dream.  Codeine really zonks me out.

I thought to myself ‘If this is it – if my stomach is actually about to explode – then this is a very pretty place to spend my last hours’, and of course, I got out my camera.

And that’s exactly what this film aims to capture.  The score is perhaps a little too intense.  But I was [legally] high, and seriously contemplating my own mortality, so I think it’s fitting.  Plus I just really freakin’ love french horn.

30-seconds-2

Score: Garageband

Editing: Final Cut Pro

Leave a Reply

