[28/365] Thirty Seconds: The Bear Pit

Ahh, Bristol. Yet another one of my temporary homes (for 10 days in December) and I truly love it. It’s a vibrant, progressive city, it’s close to the ocean, and there are some gorgeous parks and woods thrown in. Not to mention it’s the home of Wallace and Gromit, Banksy, and apparently RIBENA.

While I was in Bristol I photographed a bunch of LGBT couples, and it turns out, they were all really cool people, which probably also adds to Bristol’s good vibes. One of the couples suggested we shoot at the Bear Pit, because of the awesome night lighting, so I arrived early and filmed a few different angles.  Turns out it was a full moon, too!

30-seconds-4

Basically, the Bear Pit is a strange, urban, sunken roundabout, which looks like this from above:

10193651-large

Photo appears on http://www.bristolpost.co.uk because you guys I don’t own a drone.

The Bear Pit is apparently quite controversial, with an interesting history… there’s plenty on the internet if you’re interested in reading more.

Upon review of the footage, it seems I have unintentionally filmed someone asleep in one of the tunnels.  I have chosen not to cut this footage out, because I feel it is a true representation of the Bear Pit, and also, it doesn’t appear to breach the person’s privacy.

Score: Garageband

Editing: Final Cut Pro

Traffic sounds: Freesound.org

Leave a comment