[30/365] Thirty Seconds: Wollongong, Australia

I shot this footage in the Wollongong suburb of Windang, as my Dad and I were walking through the bush towards the sea, on the 2nd of December, my last day in Oz.

I kept thinking to myself what an ancient place Australia is.  I’ve been in the UK for 6 months now, and it is full of visible history – all around you, there are old pubs, churches, and cobblestone streets, that have been walked on for hundreds of years… but Australia’s history is different and less tangible.

It’s spiritual, somehow connected to the land.  You can feel it all around you, and as a white person, it’s strange, because there is a lot of shame and regret attached your Australian identity and the actions of your ancestors (and the ongoing actions of racist Australians who don’t acknowledge responsibility for what we’ve done to Aboriginal people).

I’ve always loved the sounds and smells of the bush.  When I’m walking through nature in Australia, I feel a quietness and a stillness, and I think about the Aboriginal people and their incredible connection to the earth.

30-seconds-6

Score: Garageband

Editing: Final Cut Pro

Ocean sounds: Freesound.org

Leave a Reply

